Daily Prompt: Food for the Soul (and Stomach) — Gumbo

If you’re an American, when you hear the word Gumbo, your first thoughts are probably spicy, seafood, & Louisiana. Well, it’s not that kind of gumbo… similar but not quite. Although, someday I plan to try the Cajun version.

My version of Gumbo comes from a long family line. How long? I’m not exactly sure. I make it, my father makes it, and my father’s [late] father made it. But I don’t know if it goes back any farther.
I think we all stuck to the same “base” formula, but we use some of our own unique ingredients.

My dad and his dad would make theirs in a dutch oven. I like to make it in my 12-quart stock pot. I make a small pot of rice to go with it. I never add the rice in with the sauce while cooking. I like to make my sauce thick with ingredients–a lot of meat with some veggies, & a few secrets.

My family raves when I make Gumbo. And when I say raves…
When I make Gumbo we have plenty of leftovers.  And those leftovers are eaten at nearly every meal, for the next day or 2 until it’s gone. My family loves it so much, sometimes they want Gumbo without rice.

It’s been awhile since I’ve made it. And my mouth is watering just thinking about it. I guess I’m going to have to go make some.
Bye!

