Daily Prompt: Fright Night

What’s the thing you’re most scared to do? What would it take to get you to do it?

My greatest fear is water.

When I was little my sister and I spent a summer with our grandmother.
One particularly hot day our aunt came over to take us swimming in a neighbors pool. Neither one of us knew how to swim, so my aunt put me on an inner tube because my feet couldn’t touch bottom. My sister was tall enough to touch bottom and she just kind of bobbed around the pool.

Just before leaving to go back to grandma’s house, my aunt ran into the house for something and my sister attempted to take me out of the inner tube. I told her no [several times] and to wait for our aunt, but she insisted.

I remember hitting bottom, and hearing my sisters muffled screams, and then a SPLASH. The next thing I knew,  I was up out of the water, spitting, sputtering and coughing up water. To this day I swear I fell through the inner tube. My sister says that it flipped over.

I have never learned to swim. I don’t like going in water any deeper than my waist, not even with a life jacket on; I don’t trust them. I enjoy boating & fishing on a boat, but I get nervous knowing we’re in deeper water than I could stand in.

Will I ever learn? I don’t know. I don’t know if I could get past that fear.

