Thanksgiving 2013

Had a busy start to the day, and my body hurts, but it was a great day. I had a wonderful dinner with my family. Just the four of us this year. We grilled our turkey, an interesting change. It had a nice barbecue-y,  smoky flavor to it.
While hubby was out grilling the bird, I was inside prepping and cooking all the sides: stuffing, mashed potatoes, gravy, and green beans. We also had jellied cranberry sauce and I made a fruit pudding for dessert.
I don’t think I ate all that much, but I still feel full enough that I haven’t even touched dessert.

We have plenty of leftovers to make those scrumptious hot turkey sandwiches.  I like them one of two ways. Place a slice of bread on the plate, then layer some turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes, gravy, and sometimes cranberry sauce. Top it off with another slice of bread and smother with more gravy. The other way is to turn the above into an open-faced sandwich. Yummy either way.

A very Happy [and safe] Thanksgiving, from my house to yours!!

