Daily Prompt: Learning Style

When learning something new, especially when it comes to creativity, I prefer one-on-one or small group; visually and hands-on. I find that I retain things better when I see it in action.

Take crocheting for instance. My mom knitted and crocheted fairly often when I was growing up. Although I didn’t want to learn until my adult years, I would watch her create. A few years after my great grandmothers death in 1992, I decided that I wanted to learn (to carry on our family craft). My great grandmother crocheted some very beautiful and unique things, but I never had the chance to see her at work. My mother has made some lovely crocheted things as well.
When I decided to learn, it was just my mom and I. I would watch her work a few stitches and then I would try. My first lesson was the granny square. Once I was confident in making those I tried a few things on my own and did fairly well. My first projects were hot pad sets made completely without a pattern.

Another craft I enjoy is tole painting. I was working in a craft store several years ago and one of the girls I worked with taught a tole painting class every few months. I was blessed to be able to participate in her final class before she left.
There was a group of 8 or 9 of us. We were told to prep our wood pieces before the night of our class at home. Then bring it, along with the required supplies, to the class.
She brought her supplies, an already completed piece and another piece for her to work on so she could show us how to paint and detail ours.
She would give a bit of instruction, demonstrate how something was done, and then we would incorporate what we were shown on our pieces.
I was told I did very well by several of the women in the class. One of them even suggested that when the instructor moved that I take her place and teach the tole painting classes. I couldn’t, of course, not after taking only one class.
I really enjoyed that class and ended up buying more supplies to try a couple of my own ideas.

12-8-13 Daily Prompt

