Daily Prompt: Out of Your Reach

Was there a toy or thing you always wanted as a child, during the holidays or on your birthday, but never received? Tell us about it.

My family didn’t have much money when I was growing up even though it seemed my dad worked all the time. That’s because military doesn’t get paid even half of what they’re worth.

It’s hard for children to comprehend not having much. After all they see when groceries, clothing or other things come into the house. So it’s natural for them to think their parents can afford anything.

I’m sitting here trying to think of something and all I can come up with is a doll house, but I don’t recall actually asking for it or putting it on a wish list. I guess maybe somehow deep inside I knew that it was something that I would never have.

Now that I’m grown up I’d like to get one, for my daughter. Maybe some day…

