Working on the NEW me

For the last two and a half years I’ve been using an online food/exercise diary to help me lose weight. And I’ve done well except for this past year where I’ve fallen victim to lack of motivation and self-control. On a few occasions, I have been close to just throwing my hands in the air and giving up. However something deep inside me didn’t let me.

I am READY for change.

YES, change is difficult, but if we continue in some of the things we do, we’ll never grow. We’ll never allow ourselves to become better. We decide to just sit because we think that change is too difficult. But seriously, who wants to sit in the same nasty, stagnant, filthy cesspool when they can do something to change?

Whenever I faced a problem or tough issue, my mother used to tell me, “You can’t eat the elephant all at once. You’ve got to take it one bite at a time.”  It’s the same with any other problem or issue.

Take losing weight for instance. Is it easy? No. Can it be done? Yes! Do you need some magic pill or potion? No! For most people, I dare say their weight problem stems from lack of activity AND lack of portion control.

Now, I am not a professional when it comes to everything regarding fitness and eating right. But what I do know is this, if I get up off my butt and exercise (for 40-60 minutes) and I stay within my fitness goals, I can lose weight. Due to several bad choices [last year] though, I have gained some weight back.

I know what you’re thinking, “Yeah she probably only has 30-40 pounds to lose.”  No ma’am! No sir! Not even close. I hate to admit it, but I have a lot more than that to lose. And I’m not going to count on a pill or something else to help me lose it. I didn’t use a pill to gain weight. Granted some was due to emotional eating during a relationship gone wrong, but I still could have made healthier choices during that time. It was my own fault, my choices that got me to where I am. So now it is my choice to do something to change that.

I have decided to get serious about kicking “fatty’s” tail. I will get up & MOVE and do what I need to do to become a more healthy me. I need to do this not only for myself, but for my family as well. They need me around.
I don’t want my husband to have to raise our blessings on his own. I don’t want our kids to go through life without a mom.

I actually use two sites, both are free to sign-up and free to use. Although, one of them you can choose to buy a membership (Become a Hero). You can add friends on both sites.
If anyone is interested:
The food & fitness diary can be found here.
The other is kind of like a game. There are quests you can do & you level up by logging your fitness efforts. A lot of it is related to weight lifting but they have been adding more aerobic fitness things.
The site for that can be found here.

If you’re in a similar boat, let me encourage you. You CAN do it. It’ll take some time but time is all we have anyway. DON’T make the excuse that you don’t have time. If you want to lose it, you will make the time. Even if you can only exercise or even walk for 15 minutes to start, then do it! (May I suggest “Walk at Home” by Leslie Sansone. She has a sample 15 minute video on her site. And I LOVE it! I have her Walk Slim (fast 4 miles) dvd).

2 thoughts on “Working on the NEW me

    • I’m sorry but I don’t have a definitive answer to your question. I don’t physically sit down and count every carb, protein gram, etc. (The diary counts those for me & I haven’t studied the results).
      I will say that protein is definitely needed, so you DON’T lose muscle while losing fat.

      Like

Comments are closed.