The Mirror is Not My Friend

Daily Prompt: Mirror, Mirror

Look in the mirror. Does the person you see match the person you feel like on the inside? How much stock do you put in appearances?

 

When I look into the mirror
I don’t like what I see;
It’s an older, plumper,
version of me.

Enlarged pores, some silver hairs,
and a gut;
Not to mention
my bigger butt.

I wish people would realize
I’m more than just a body;
Is it that important
for me to be a hottie?

Don’t you see,
I’m just like you;
I feel, I love,
and I bleed too.

Haven’t you ever heard
Don’t judge a book by it’s cover?
There are many things about people,
if you really look, you can discover.

I’m trying really hard
to make a lifelong change;
By working out daily
my goal will soon be in range.

I must always remember,
no matter what others may think or say,
I am fearfully and wonderfully made
And the Lord loves me anyway.

“I will praise You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; Marvelous are Your works, And that my soul knows very well.” Psalm 139:14 (NKJV)

” For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life.” John 3:16 (NKJV)

One thought on “The Mirror is Not My Friend

Comments are closed.