Cookies My Dear? REALLY?!

I love my husband so much but some things he does just drive me crazy. He’s supportive and encouraging with my weight loss, but I could just smack him for things he does sometimes.

He went to the grocery store last night to stock up on a few things before Winter Storm Pax makes it’s arrival. Meat, veggies, fruit, milk, bread and… what’s this? COOKIES???  REALLY?!?!? He even said, as he took them out of the bag, “I know. I’m naughty.”  UGH!

I don’t have much of a sweet tooth. I think I prefer salty/savory over sweet things. It’s the fact that it’s a temptation. Sometimes my will-power isn’t that strong. Don’t get me wrong I do not eat totally clean (yet); I eat what I want.

On top of that, hubby doesn’t eat breakfast most days and rarely eats lunch. So he eats one or two meals a day–dinner and a snack. That’s not healthy for him. Breakfast really is the MOST important meal of the day. It gives your body its jump-start to get through the day.

His morning routine consists of drinking 2-3 cups of coffee (with milk or creamer & a bit of sugar). Then he’s off and running doing whatever is on his schedule for the day. On the days he works hardest or is gone the longest, he wonders why he’s so tired. (HELLO!!! Could your body be telling you it’s lacking energy & much needed vitamins and minerals because you’re not eating properly??)

It concerns me very much. I think his body might be going into/is already in starvation mode. He’s always been thin, yet muscular. Always active, but not as active as when he was working construction and landscaping. He has gained a little weight around his mid-section over the last few years too.

When he does eat Breakfast or lunch it’s not overly unhealthy. Usually cold cereal, oatmeal or pancakes for breakfast. And maybe a couple of sandwiches or leftovers for lunch. On days he doesn’t have breakfast & lunch, he’ll eat dinner and then have a snack later. He snacks on chips, or [his usual] cookies. And sometimes he’ll consume half the package!

I have tried to encourage him to change those habits. He’s even admitted needing to. I have even suggested that he start using the online food/fitness diary that I use so he can see what he’s putting into body and lacking in his diet. No such luck.

I don’t want to nag him. (And I don’t). I just want him to see what he’s doing to himself. I want him to live & be healthy. I want him around awhile, you know?
1 Corinthians 6:19 (NKJV) “Or do you not know that your body is the temple of the Holy Spirit who is in you, whom you have from God, and you are not your own?”

