In His Footsteps

There is a lot of persecution in the world today, especially towards Christians. As one myself, I find it extremely heartbreaking. We are judged, criticized, mocked… and in some parts of the world tortured and/or murdered.

People treat us like we’re wretched human beings.

Yes, there are some “christians” that have a holier than thou attitude. In my opinion, they give true Christians a bad name.

As Christians, we are called to walk in the footsteps of Jesus. He is our example. We will never be perfect, as He was, but we should strive to live our lives to be like Him.

I think Carol S. Wimmer expressed it best in her poem, “When I Say I am a Christian”:

When I say, “I am a Christian”
I’m not shouting, “I’ve been saved!”
I’m whispering, “I get lost sometimes
That’s why I chose this way”

When I say, “I am a Christian”
I don’t speak with human pride
I’m confessing that I stumble –
needing God to be my guide

When I say, “I am a Christian”
I’m not trying to be strong
I’m professing that I’m weak
and pray for strength to carry on

When I say, “I am a Christian”
I’m not bragging of success
I’m admitting that I’ve failed
and cannot ever pay the debt

When I say, “I am a Christian”
I don’t think I know it all
I submit to my confusion
asking humbly to be taught

When I say, “I am a Christian”
I’m not claiming to be perfect
My flaws are far too visible
but God believes I’m worth it

When I say, “I am a Christian”
I still feel the sting of pain
I have my share of heartache
which is why I seek God’s name

When I say, “I am a Christian”
I do not wish to judge
I have no authority
I only know I’m loved

©1988 Carol Wimmer All Rights Reserved

4 thoughts on “In His Footsteps

  1. Passionate says:

    There is persecution within our own families. Expectations that are placed on family members to live up to the standards of the who earns the most or has the highest position in their career. I encourage all my sons, to remember that they don’t have to be like me or their father, and that they are more than their culture, their race. We are not religious or follow any faith, but I have encouraged my sons to have compassion and understanding for people who view the world differently. That there is more than one path to live your life by and that as long as you don’t go out of your way to hurt people, then they will have a happy mum. I think it can be more dangerous not to belong these days. In fact I found myself constantly offending an ex-manager, who changed her religion from Catholic to a Jehovah Witness and found that they didn’t celebrate Christmas or Birthday’s. It’s just automatic for me to say Merry Xmas or Happy Birthday and had no idea I was going against her beliefs. Maybe it is I that has to change mine outlook and quit all of this altogether to avoid the possibility of upsetting someones belief system.

    Like

    • These days people get offended by anything and everything. If you are not “Politically Correct” people freak out.
      You can believe what you want. Don’t let someone’s “feeling offended” change who you are or what you believe. =]

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.