[NaBloPoMo] Room For Improvement

Google and rescue operation
What was the last thing you searched for online? Why were you looking for it?

I’m a perfectionist, especially when it comes to writing.

I was talking with a friend and fellow writer a few days ago. I asked for her recommendations on websites or books on grammar and sentence structure. I’ve also been searching Google for information.

She recommended a book and a couple websites. (Strunk & White’s Elements of Style, grammarly, and quickanddirtytips–grammargirl).

Let me start by saying, I truly value my friends opinion, but I also wanted other suggestions. So I went to my good friend Google and searched for reviews. As it turned out, I am pretty disappointed by what I found.

Both Strunk & White’s book and grammarly’s site sounded good at first. But the more I read, the worse they sounded. In fact, the book review, I found on grammar girl.

Strunk and White’s Elements of Style was written over 50 years ago. Do you realize how much language has changed since then? (Grammar Girl’s review).

Grammarly is a writing-enhancement platform for proof-read grammar and spelling. It also has plagiarism detection.  Grammarly offers a 7-day free trial; afterward you pay upwards of $30.00 USD per month. Several tests were completed by staff from Grammarist. (Grammarist’s review).

So I continued my search.

Today, I found a free online proof-reader (grammar & spelling). It also has plagiarism detection and offers writing suggestions. Time will tell if it’s worth using. Unless I find something better, I will be using it.

2 thoughts on “[NaBloPoMo] Room For Improvement

Comments are closed.