Fishing

Hubby enjoys it.

I enjoy it.

The kids enjoy it.

FISHING!

The kids and I haven’t been fishing in roughly two years. My dear husband has gone several times. I’m not complaining, but it would be nice if we could have gone with him.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not one of those women that has her man on a leash or tells him he can’t hang out with the boys. I’m glad that he still spends time with his friends. He enjoys their company.

Yesterday he went fishing with a long-time family friend. This friend does really well and is a fishing fanatic, in my opinion. There’s rarely a time this man gets skunked. However, last night was close to being one of those times; nothing he caught was worth keeping.
On the flip side, dear hubby caught a decent Striped Bass (aka Striper).
He enjoys the sport and also fishes to help feed our family. I’m proud of my hubby.

Length: 34"  Weight: 16 pounds 1 ounce

Length: 34″     Weight: 16 lbs. 1 oz.

Striped Bass caught from shore in Love Ladies, NJ.

Striped Bass caught from shore in Love Ladies, NJ.

Before you ask, the bait used was a 6″ Hake that was caught earlier.

Federal regulations: Up to three miles off shore for Stripers for 2015:
One fish per day at 33″
Anything smaller or larger has to be released.
(This is still being voted on.)
Federal Government allows each state to decide on their own limits.
Anything beyond 3 miles off shore is International Waters.
Any fish caught are illegal to keep.

Current New Jersey regulations: Up to a mile off shore for Stripers:
Two fish, 28″ or larger, can be kept per day, unless
you have a permit to keep a third fish.

Note:
~To all fishermen and fisherwomen~
I found an interesting article while searching for links for this blog post.
Why getting skunked makes you a better angler

Happy Fishing!

3 thoughts on “Fishing

  1. There aren’t many things that help me recharge as much as fishing. I really believe that if they’d go fishing (and go more often) many people would find themselves less stressed and more energized.

    Like

      • Yes, they do…or they refuse to go. I worked with a person who wouldn’t fish because it seemed to be a “pointless waste of time.” It’s kind of sad that many people will deprive themselves of things that can make their lives better.

        Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.