[NaBloPoMo 2014] Extended Writer’s Block

Have you ever had extended writer’s block? How long did it last? What did you do to break out of it, and do you have tips for other bloggers?

writer’s block: the condition of being unable to think of what to write or how to proceed with writing.

Before I started blogging, the only thing I used to write were poems and short stories. Writer’s Block wasn’t a big issue because I wasn’t writing every day. I wrote when I felt inspired.

Before I started blogging, the last poem I wrote was for Father’s Day 2011. Prior to that was two years before we moved from Michigan to New Jersey in 2009.

Since writing the Father’s Day poem for my husband, I don’t recall writing much of anything until I started blogging. I do remember attempting to write…

There was a glimmer of inspiration. A single thought, to become a line in a poem…
I wrote it down.
Then, something that usually took minutes to pen, was suddenly lost…
the glimmer fizzled out.

I was discouraged.

I tried again the following day, still nothing.

I felt defeated, but it wasn’t just because I couldn’t write. The circumstances of my life at that time were taking a toll on me and my emotions.

You see, I write from the heart.
I write from my feelings, experiences, and dreams.
I couldn’t write about something happy when I felt so miserable.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Fast forward a few months.

I found one of my writing notebooks and started thumbing through it. I read several poems before stopping on a page where I had started a potential chapter of a novella. It wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t great either. I knew I needed to improve my writing.

That’s when I decided to start blogging.

I had no idea what a blog was or what to do with it when I got started. I assumed it was an online diary or something of that sort. I found my way to WP and created my blog, then quickly proceeded researching what blogging is all about.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
My blog sat idle for a month before my first post.
Two months later, another post. A week later, another.
I was struggling for content. I still wasn’t sure what to do with my blog.
All I knew was that I wanted to keep writing.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Sometimes I struggle with writer’s block. We all do. We could go days, weeks, or even months without writing. It’s frustrating when you want to write but can’t think of anything. Or when you struggle to keep going on a project you’ve started.

Because I have struggled so often, I’ve Google’d for writing prompts, use WP daily prompts, and have found other writing resources.

Have they helped? Um… check my post calendar.
I’m happy to say that I’ve been writing daily for the past two weeks. Sometimes multiple posts in a day.

Will it continue? I certainly hope so. But writer’s block will probably rear it’s ugly head again at some point.

