[NaBloPoMo 2014] Growing Old

Do you enjoy growing old or do you fight against it?

I was just thinking about something similar a couple of days ago:
When does middle age begin?

Google says: “According to one study, the average person believes youth ends at 35 and old age begins at 58. Therefore, the years in between–all 23 of them–constitute middle age.”

According to Wikipedia: “The US Census lists middle age as including both the age categories 35 to 44 and 45 to 54, while prominent psychologist Erik Erikson saw it ending a little later and defines middle adulthood as between 40 and 65.”

Being 39 years old I might or might not fit in said category, according to the above sources.

Since the age of 35, I have been finding a few silver hairs,
mostly towards the top/front of my head.
I have found just recently a few on the sides of my head.
I am caught between combating it (dyeing) and just not caring.
I think I’m leaning more towards not caring.
After all, the Bible calls grey hair a crowning glory.

My memory isn’t as good as it used to be. It’s been that way for a few years; however, I think that is due to stressful life circumstances.
I am concerned though, that it could be something more. At my age that’s a scary thing.

Growing old is something most will endure.
There’s really no way to fight it. It’s inevitable.
You can change your perspective of it;
choose to stay young at heart, instead of being bitter.

One thought on “[NaBloPoMo 2014] Growing Old

  1. I think you’re old when you begin to think you are.At age 67, I entered the Peace Corps. For a little over two years, I had a most satisfying time teaching English to university students and doctors and teachers. When I returned, I became a Mentor Teacher for 16 years at a Catholic high school and left only because they terminated my position due to budget cuts. Now, I’m trying to get an online tutoring business going with writing and speaking services to students and writers, editing, and mentoring advice to new teachers. Yes,sometimes I have to pause and reach for the word I want. But that happens to 18-year-olds, too. When people decide to separate years into categories of young and old, they usually are taking only physicality into consideration. The old adage, “You’re as young as you feel,” is not entirely untrue.

    Like

Comments are closed.