“Taste of the Orient” Soup

A lot of my recipes are made as I go. I don’t usually measure things out when I cook–so measurements are guess-timated. I go by flavor & texture. I only measure when I bake. So my advice to you is go with your taste buds. If you like Chinese cashew chicken/pork/beef, you’ll like this.

 

6 cups water
2 beef bouillon cubes
2 chicken bouillon cubes
1 1/2 tsp Toasted Sesame Seed Oil
3 stalks celery, sliced (if large, slice lengthwise & chop)
1/2 cup crunchy peanut butter (you may use creamy–it’s just to add flavor)
3 dashes low sodium soy sauce
1/2 cup mild chunky salsa
Leftover “Spicy Curry Rice” (recipe here)
1/2 to 2/3 cup long grain white rice, uncooked (depends how much rice you want in your soup)
1/2 tsp poultry seasoning
fresh ground black pepper, to taste

In a 2-qt saucepan (med-high heat) bring water, bouillon, oil, & celery to boil; reduce to medium heat.
Add celery & peanut butter stirring to blend & melt peanut butter.
Add soy sauce & salsa.
Add leftover curry rice & uncooked rice and bring soup back to a boil to cook rice & celery.
Stir in poultry seasoning & black pepper.
Serve.

