Proud of Myself

It’s been a pretty good week. And a great cooking week.
My back and body hurt but I have no complaints. I feel accomplished and proud of myself.

This week we celebrate(d) two birthdays: P’s (hubby) and Little Miss (our daughter).

Both days I made special breakfasts. Wednesday we had Creamed Eggs on Toast. This morning I made French Toast, with a side of home fries, and their choice of bacon, sausage, or scrapple. (Sorry no recipes tonight, but maybe some other time). But what I’m most proud of is the cake I made for dessert tonight.

I haven’t done any baking in the last several years. I haven’t been able to–no oven, (screams), until…
Just before Thanksgiving we ordered a toaster oven. Yeah, I know what you’re thinking, it just makes toast. But really they’ve come a long way. They make some models now where you can toast, bake, and broil. Unfortunately ours isn’t big enough to cook even a small turkey, but it works pretty well for pork loin, beef roast, individual pizzas, cookies, cupcakes/muffins, CAKE, and of course, toast.

Ok, so, back to the cake…
I haven’t baked a cake in at least a decade. And I hate to admit it, but I have never made one from scratch. (I make most everything else from scratch, so cut me some slack here).

I used a white cake mix, and baked two 8″ cakes, one at a time and cooled them as directed.
I had an almost full can of butter cream frosting or 2 cans of chocolate frosting to choose from. I used butter cream between the layers and topped it with chocolate (hubby’s fave). I decorated the sides with shredded sweetened coconut. Our son and I used plain M&Ms, coconut, rainbow sprinkles, and leftover cookie icing to decorate the top.

It may not look like something you’d order from a Cake Shop but this is the best looking cake I’ve ever made. In previous tries I hadn’t let the cake cool long enough and it was crumbling and blended with the frosting, which also melted and looked like… well… to put it nicely, a MESS.

So without further ado…

Top of Cake

Side of Cake

2 thoughts on “Proud of Myself

Comments are closed.