Make Your Own Oat Flour

My kids and I enjoy watching cooking shows on Saturday afternoons. One of our favorites is Lidia’s Italy.

On today’s show she made crepes. I have never tried making them before, but would like to. Anyway, Lidia (Bastianich) was talking about the different flours that can be used to make the crepe batter:

Unbleached Flour (said this was best)
White Flour
Oat Flour

She went on to say that you can make your own oat flour. You take dried oats and grind them in your food processor. I’m thinking, “That’s too simple, there must be more to it.” But, alas! my dear friend Google confirms!

Pulse the oats until they are ground into a powder-like consistency. Depending on the speed and power of yourfood processor, this process should take 60 seconds or less. Stop and stir to ensure that all the oats have been finely ground. One cup of rolled oats will yield approximately 1 cup of oat flour.

How Simple!!

