Deep Fried Calamari Rings

I have been thinking about a food that I used to enjoy when I lived in Canada. Every so often I’d go to a local Chinese Buffet and they had a really good calamari dish. There was a background flavor like egg yolks, and it was cooked with sliced onions, broccoli, and seasoned with chili flakes.

I loved it.

For a few years after moving back to the states, I tried finding a recipe. I even tried to contact the restaurant to no avail.

A few days ago I brought it up to my husband and he went and bought a package of frozen calamari rings with tentacles. I had never cooked that sort of thing before, neither has he. So we did some research and tried our hand at making deep fried calamari.

Last night we tried. And failed… miserably. It was like eating breaded rubberbands.

I asked some of my friends that I knew enjoyed cooking and  there were a few suggestions made. More research was done on my part. It seems most recipes I found, they marinated the calamari in buttermilk or milk.

We didn’t have buttermilk, but I knew you could make buttermilk. So tonight I tried again, and OYM!!! (Oh Your Mom!!!)

It. was. awesome! So tender and good. Hooray! No more eating breaded rubberbands! It didn’t taste like the calamari I had in Canada, but it was still good.

So, without further ado…

Deep Fried Calamari Rings with Tentacles

3 cups buttermilk (or homemade buttermilk–3 cups whole milk + 3 Tbsp apple cider vinegar, stir; let rest 5 minutes, stir)
2 lbs. frozen pre-cut calamari rings with tentacles, thawed/drained
3-4 eggs
2 cups Flour
Seasonings of your choice (I used paprika and sea salt)
Vegetable oil

Thaw frozen calamari under cool running water; drain.
Prepare buttermilk if you’re making your own.
In a medium or large bowl, add thawed/drained calamari and buttermilk; cover & refrigerate for 4 hours.
Add oil as directed for your deep fryer; heat to 360′ F.
Drain calamari well.
In a small bowl beat eggs. In a medium bowl mix flour and your spices. (OR you could use flour only and add a touch of salt after cooking).
Dredge calamari in flour mixture, then in eggs, and back into flour mixture coating well; shake off excess flour.
Fry in small batches until golden. Serve as desired.

We cooked angel hair pasta, added marinara sauce, and topped it off with calamari rings.

These can be eaten as a snack or as part of a meal. Enjoy!

