Homemade Pico de Gallo

My family and I LOVE Mexican food, especially tacos; homemade tacos. There are so many varieties and toppings to put on them. They are so delicious, that we enjoy them at least once or twice a month.

Back while I was in college, I used to work at a Mexican fast food restaurant. (I’m not naming names, but I’m sure you’ll figure it out). At least one of their items had pico de gallo in it, and I loved it! I had never eaten cilantro or green chilies before, until I started working (and eating) there.

Several weeks ago we ordered out from the local restaurant, as I was craving that yummy, spicy sauce. Unfortunately the restaurant failed my expectations. Our order was a mess. Food was not wrapped correctly and was spilling out, lids were not completely locked on containers, etc. It looked like it was just thrown together in the bag. I was very disappointed. I decided, after sending a review to the corporate office, that we would not be ordering out from this restaurant again.

Yesterday I was writing out the grocery list and included everything we needed to make tacos. I got to thinking about that tasty Pico de Gallo sauce and my mouth began to water. I had an idea of what went in it from when I had made it during my work days back in college, however, I decided to do a little investigating just to be sure.

Last night we made tacos, and they were, undoubtedly, the best tacos we’ve ever made. My daughter & I were the only ones to use my new recipe since dear hubby and son don’t like some of the ingredients. My daughter said, “It tastes better than **********’s!” (She’s 8 years old by the way).

Ok, I guess I’ve held you in suspense long enough… ENJOY!

CraftyChick’s Homemade Pico de Gallo
makes about 4 cups

homemade20pico20de20gallo_zpsgrdgwwes

2 large (firm) tomatoes, diced small
1 medium white onion, diced
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 bunch fresh cilantro, chopped (use to your taste)
2 Tbsp lime juice (half a fresh lime)
2-3 Tbsp Green Chile Sauce
salt & pepper to taste

In a medium bowl, combine all ingredients, mixing well.
Store in air-tight container in the refrigerator.
It may become a bit juicy over-night, so stir and use as normal.

Last night we used it right away, but I recommend making it at least a day ahead so flavors can blend together. I used some again today in my salad at lunchtime. All I can say is… YUM!!

